NMA Applauds Unanimous Passage of Russian Uranium Ban

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Mining Association (NMA) applauded the bipartisan passage in both the Senate and House of a bill banning Russian uranium imports into the United States.  U.S. Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), and Roger Marshall (R-Kan.) took the lead in the Senate with a bill that passed unanimously yesterday, and Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wash.) who authored the bill, which passed the House in December and is now headed to the President’s desk.

“The U.S. needlessly suffers from a near complete import reliance for uranium and in recent years that deficit has been fed in large part by imports from Russia and its former satellites,” said Rich Nolan, NMA president and CEO.  “We are home to abundant uranium resources and the world’s largest fleet of nuclear power plants. We simply must do better to support domestic production for our energy and mineral needs and this decisive, bipartisan action in Congress is a significant first step.”

# # #