NMA Board of Directors Elects Officers, Directors for 2013-2014

Las Vegas, Nev. – The National Mining Association’s (NMA) board of directors today elected a slate of officers and directors for the two-year term 2013-2014. The action came at the association’s Board and Annual Meeting of Members held in Las Vegas, Nev. in advance of the opening tomorrow of MINExpo INTERNATIONAL® 2012 at the Las Vegas Convention Center. NMA’s directors are the senior executives from member companies that mine coal and minerals, manufacture mining equipment and provide related services.

NMA officers for 2013 are:

Chairman Frank McAllister, Chairman and CEO, Stillwater Mining Co.
Vice Chairman Kevin Crutchfield, CEO, Alpha Natural Resources
President Hal Quinn, president and CEO, NMA
Treasurer Roger Roberts, senior vice president, NMA
Secretary Bruce Watzman, senior vice president, NMA
Asst. Secretary Katie Sweeney, general counsel, NMA
Directors elected for two-year term ending 2014 are:


Phil Baker, Hecla Mining Company
Keith Clark, Compass Minerals
Tom Diment, Agrium Inc.
Gene Dixon, Kyanite Mining Corp.
David Godlewski, Teck American Inc.
Porter Gregory, Materion Natural Resources
Benjamin Guenther, AngloGold Ashanti North America Inc.
John King, National Gypsum Company
Mitchell Krebs, Coeur d’Alene Mines Corp.
Peter Luthiger, Mestena Uranium LLC
Tony Panchyshyn, Graymont
David Partridge, Chevron Mining Inc.
Lauren Roberts, Kinross Gold Corporation
Donna Wichers, Uranium One Americas

Robert Benson, North American Coal Corp.
John Blaschak, Fisher Mining Company
Garry Drummond, Drummond Company, Inc.
Cliff Forrest, Rosebud Mining Co.
J. Brett Harvey, CONSOL Energy
Greg Jessee, ArcelorMittal Princeton
Paul Krivokuca, Prairie States Generating Company
Tom Mackall, East Fairfield Coal Co.
Colin Marshall, Cloud Peak Energy Inc.
James Mattern, Trapper Mining Inc.
David Potter, Clintwood Elkhorn Mining Co.
Duane Richards, Western Fuels Association
Bryan Ronck, Berwind Natural Resources Corp.
Mike Williams, Luminant

New Board Members Elected for a One-Year Term Expiring 2013:

Robert Cooper, Farrell-Cooper Mining Co.
John Eaves, Arch Coal, Inc.
Tom Garges, Oxbow Mining, LLC
Ben Hatfield, Patriot Coal Corporation
Everett King, Ambre Energy NA


John Boyd, John T. Boyd Company
Frank Calandra, Jr., Jennmar
Rodney Cole, Nexans AmerCable
Robert Stenger, Cincinnati Mine Machinery Co.
Michael Sutherlin, Joy Global Inc.
David Willick, GE
Steve Wunning, Caterpillar Inc.
“NMA is fortunate to have executives of this caliber devoting their time and energies to the association,” said NMA President and CEO Hal Quinn. “They make an extraordinary contribution to NMA and to U.S. mining. NMA remains a robust organization because of the active participation of our membership and the service of our officers and board members.”